Week 49 (Year 3): More planting of Onions and Growth in the Greenhouse…

“Gotta keep: One jump ahead of the breadline, One swing ahead of the sword…”

As Aladdin said: you have to be prepared and keep ahead (where you can) so I have been busy planting seeds and plants to try and get them going before they are transferred over to my Allotment. Of course, I can not resist a bargain, so I picked up some more Red Onions: which look really good and solid mini-bulbs. But aware that my White and Red Onions intended from Winter have started to sprout leaves, I needed to get these growing as quickly as possible. They have been planted in trays, literally pushed into the soil to get them started. Once they have had some leaves grown, and roots pushing through in the bottom: they shall be moved over to a raised bed on the Plot. Will have to cover as I found the birds and pigeons (and possibly the Parakeets) like to pull them up when they are rather young plants.

Growth over 5 weeks of my Red Onions

Growth over 5 weeks of my Red Onions

Growth over 5 weeks for my White Onions

Growth over 5 weeks for my White Onions

A Good Tray of White Onions with leaves

A Good Tray of White Onions with leaves

A Good Tray of Red Onions with leaves

A Good Tray of Red Onions with leaves

And yet more Red (Baron) Onions bought as a bargain in Morrisons! (Alongside some more Gladioli Bulbs!)

Another bargain!

Another bargain!

Partly Planted

Partly Planted

All Planted

All Planted

And reassuring to see the Broad beans have popped through and growing well. These will be moved over to the plot shortly along with several bags of Gladioli bulbs. The Broad beans will be moved over and neatly planted in rows whilst the Glads will be planted along both sides of “Main Avenue”. These are multi-coloured bulbs and fairly random so they should add some summer colour to my plot. And getting ready for the next Committee Meeting, our last before the AGM.

Notices on the Gate

Notices on the Gate

And more planting to be done with new purchases: Ginger Plant, Sweet Peas and maybe my Tomatoes, Aubergines and Courgettes! I also have Asparagus to be planted on the Plot (which requires me to do some drainage improvements to a specific Raised Bed: as this will be a permanent home for Asparagus. I have purchased Gravel and Sand and will dig this in before planting the little plants and pray that this will help establish them into good strong plants for many years).

Leave a Reply

