Week 49 (Year 3): Mulching raised beds with royal muck and RHS London Early Spring Plant Fair…

The weather has improved with some warmer days, bright sunshine and less frosty starts so I spend a little time down on my Plot. Whilst down there, I was quick (alongside many other plot holders) to help myself to the muck left by our main gate.

Royal Muck being used an depleted by the main gate.

Royal Muck being used an depleted by the main gate.

This is delivered (on an ad hoc basis from the Royal Household) and is fresh manure mixed with straw and other material and I you have to be quick if you want to use it as it is often taken by other Plot Holders.

A wheelbarrow of manure muck to be spread on my raised beds.

A wheelbarrow of manure muck to be spread on my raised beds.

Filling four wheelbarrows and spreading them primarily on my front two raised beds (on the left with Rhubarb, Raspberries and Strawberries as well as on the right with Fruit Bushes [recently moved from the back of the plot]) and a little more in the second raised bed on the right (with the strawberries) and even further back for a smaller section of strawberries. I am not convinced that this is pure manure (as you can see the straw-like grass in the mix and it has a distinctly yellow colouring but it will act as a good mulch and protect the ground from weeds as well as feed the soil.

One raised bed (Left) covered and mulched over

One raised bed (Left) covered and mulched over

Part-way through the mulching process

Part-way through the mulching process

Finished mulching and tidying up.

Finished mulching and tidying up.

It also gave me the chance to see the plot and start to plan and organise. Already I have two bargain Asparagus plants to be put into the ground as well as several more on order so I need to decide which permanent bed I am sacrificing for this crop. Especially as I will not benefit produce for a few years yet. And pleased that Purple Sprouting Brocolli is growing well and should be able to eat them soon:

My Purple Sprouting Broccoli is developing flower heads ready to be eaten.

My Purple Sprouting Broccoli is developing flower heads ready to be eaten.

Lush Purple Sprouting Broccoli

Lush Purple Sprouting Broccoli

In addition, I have started to lay out my potatoes in baskets to encourage them to chit and produce some growth before they are buried on the plot.

London Early Spring Plant Fair Hall 1

London Early Spring Plant Fair Hall 1

RHS Early Spring Plant Fair Hall 2

RHS Early Spring Plant Fair Hall 2

Of course it was the RHS London Early Spring Plant Fair at the RHS Horticultural Halls this week, and I couldn’t resist purchasing some more Potatoes. It seems strange given the number I already have but they had a choice of two red ones (with red skins and red flesh) so had to have one of them! I ended up buying Reds Emmalie (Rote) which is an Early Main.

Seed Potatoes for sale

Seed Potatoes for sale

What I bought.

What I bought.

There were two halls open for the Fair with some displays of beautiful plants and bulbs  in bloom as well as several stalls with plants, labels and advice /guidance. A more interesting display was on the proposed Show Gardens at the RHS Chelsea Flower Show were they had both a explanation as well as an illustration on walls. This material is usually featured in the brochure and some of the show gardens look quite spectacular and exciting (even several months away). It is no surprise that the planning and organisation of these are so far advanced as many of the plants which should be in bloom in May should be growing quite well now.

Show Garden Illustrations for RHS Chelsea Flower Show

Show Garden Illustrations for RHS Chelsea Flower Show

More Show Garden Illustrations for RHS Chelsea Flower Show

More Show Garden Illustrations for RHS Chelsea Flower Show

So looking forward to the forthcoming season down the allotment and on my travels.

 

2 thoughts on “Week 49 (Year 3): Mulching raised beds with royal muck and RHS London Early Spring Plant Fair…

Leave a Reply

