Week 48 (Year 3): Sowing Seeds for 2017 including Beans and Peas…

Another wintery week so my focus was upon sowing seeds for my small Greenhouse at the house. Whilst it is still quite early to be sowing seeds, they are protected from the worst of the weather and if I can get some seedlings growing shortly, I can transfer them to my plot early in the season and hopefully, enjoy some produce a few weeks earlier than other Plot Holders. So what have I been sowing:

Being one for bargains, I found this triple pack of produce in Poundland: yes Broad Bean Seeds and two Pea Seeds which seemed a good and fun idea. I have had mixed results with Peas before, as they require some care and attention in preventing the wildlife from eating them as well as support in their growth into strong productive plants. Last year, the peas didn’t do very well at all so I shall have to see if I have better luck.

£1 for Pea & Bean Seeds from Poundland

£1 for Pea & Bean Seeds from Poundland

To be grown inside the Greenhouse:

Placed in the Greenhouse

Placed in the Greenhouse

Shelves are full!

Shelves are full!

Paper Pots for Pea plantings

Paper Pots for Pea plantings

Making holes for planting

Making holes for planting

Love that I can make plant pots (which are easier to transplant and plant straight into the ground without destroying or disturbing roots) from paper. And usually it is Flower /Plant catalogues as what else do you do with them except recycle them. They only need a slight trim and then rolled around the tool and pushed down, to make a fairly sturdy pot.

A sign of life with the Broad Beans

A sign of life with the Broad Beans

And my Onion bargains are doing OK:

Onions are slowly getting leaves

Onions are slowly getting leaves

Red Onions seems to be settling in with some growth

Red Onions seems to be settling in with some growth

So back to planting and sowings.

Leave a Reply

