Week 45 (Year 3): From Plot to Plate: My Allotment Grown Cabbage…

One of the real joys of growing your own fruit and veg is the benefit of eating the produce. After planting my cabbage was moved to the plot in week 19 and looked rather sweet and small versus a few months later in week 39, with some growth and surviving the winter weather, I have some solid plants to enjoy. It is a relatively straight-forward crop to grow from seed, and one that I think really looks good on an Allotment. It takes it’s place under a long cloche which protects it throughout it’s life from Pigeons and Parakeets as well as from various pests which also like them!

My beautiful Cabbage

My beautiful Cabbage

And cooked with a little butter and they are rather tasty! Don’t do the boiling (like they used to do at School) as not only are you removing the crispness and the colour out of the product but you also boil away all the goodness.

Back in January (Week 36) they were growing well and were ready for an early picking.

My Cabbage is doing rather well under a cloche and has avoided white flies.

My Cabbage is doing rather well under a cloche and has avoided white flies.

From seedlings which were transplanted into little paper pots in Week 18:

Savoy Red Cabbage (and a few more Tomato plants)

Savoy Red Cabbage (and a few more Tomato plants)

And rather pleased that my Broccoli is growing well and producing some flowery heads which should build up and be enjoyed very shortly.

Broccoli under the net

Broccoli under the net

One thought on “Week 45 (Year 3): From Plot to Plate: My Allotment Grown Cabbage…

  1. Pingback: Week 52 Year 3: Happy 3rd Birthday to my Allotment Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

