Week 30: More Potatoes and a surprisingly a handful of carrots…

Another load of potatoes (my last ones for 2016) which will now be stored in the garage and probably used up until Christmas 2016. I have a good selection of Maris Piper Main Crop with some large enough to do baked potatoes with, as well as Cara (more similar sized and rounder potatoes which should be good for roasting). And the soil in the Potatoes beds will have been worked well so need to start planning for next season.

Plated lettuce in an old Potato Raised Bed

Plated lettuce in an old Potato Raised Bed

My one and only Watermelon

My one and only Watermelon

I know that being outside, it was always going to be a challenge to grow a Watermelon but I did manage one from the four plants I had planted from seed. I probably should have started it off slightly earlier so that it had a better chance of getting sunshine and growing but I’m quite pleased. I am sure when I opeit up it will be red fleshy but rather small!

And in one of the raised beds (which was largely covered for most of the summer, I weeded it out and found I had some carrots growing. This was a pleasant surprised as I was not convinced they had germinated, in fact was sure they hadn’t but some did in the sandy trenches I had put in. Again, not a Kings Table portion but there are still a few in the ground so let’s see how they progress over the next few weeks.

Real Carrots!

Real Carrots!

And the weather has changed: there’s a coldness and a chill in the air which is a challenge as I do feel the cold and find if I go down the Allotment; I wrap up with several layers and can only do short bursts of work.

The View

The View

Leave a Reply

