Week 28: Digging Up Main Crop Potatoes: the most exciting crop on my plot…

I adore digging up Potatoes. It still amazes me how one tuber can grow to even more potatoes and what a self-sufficient crop they are. It means spending only little time to support their growth. We did have Blight on the Allotments, which did spread like Wild Fire although I am located away from those immediately affected.  I am sure they will have the resilience, strength and time to rebuild their lives after the storm has gone.

Having already collected my Albert Bartlett Second Earlies (Osprey), it is time for Main Crop potatoes:Cara which have a light pinkish glow to some of them. They haven’t grown q huge one a it would be good for boiling and roasting.

These freshly picked Potatoes are  more Main Crop Cara (so we have yet another half-empty bed!]!

 

 

One thought on “Week 28: Digging Up Main Crop Potatoes: the most exciting crop on my plot…

  1. Pingback: Week 3 (Year 4): Transferring First Early Seed Potatoes and planting Asparagus Plants on my plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

