Week 27 Year 3: Storing Pumpkins, Harvesting Fruit & Vegetables and loads and loads of Tomatoes…

Winter is Coming: It’s got a lot cooler down the Allotment with a wet September and many cooler evenings. Indeed, some days (which were meant to be dry and warm) haven’t turned out like that so I do need to head down the Plot and get weeding. We have another Inspection at the end of the month (September) and a final one for this year (in October).

Pumpkins moved

Pumpkins moved

I have moved my Pumpkins after a spate of vegetable thefts on our Plots. It appears that someone helps themselves to well-grown produce and whilst we have security cameras at most of our gates. We clearly do not have them covering Plots and the whole site. These felt particularly exposed being in my very front Raised Bed, and certainly more noticeable now that they are bright Orange and of course, the Potato Plants were pulled up and harvested. They’re not in my proper Greenhouse but in the plastic lean-to with some Garlic (still drying) and Poppy Heads (just resting there!) and once I have the energy, these will be taken home.

Amazing Tomatoes

Amazing Tomatoes

After the harvesting of Tomatoes from the Greenhouse over the last few weeks, I was surprised that I still had more to come, and more still to come. Indeed, we’ve made Tomato Sauce with fresh herbs and frozen this, and these ones will probably get Oven-Dried as I find new ways to enjoy my tomatoes. A simple drizzle of olive oil and some herbs and “baked” lightly in the oven and left overnight and these should be intensely amazing.

Last Apples of the year, Handful of Beans, Cucumbers and yet more Yellow Courgettes.

Last Apples of the year, Handful of Beans, Cucumbers and yet more Yellow Courgettes.

And further produce harvested included some more regular Yellow Courgettes (rather than Marrows!) a couple of cucumbers which have quite bumpy skins, a handful of Runner Beans and of course the last few Apples from my tree. It’s been a good year but already I’m thinking about planning for next year: Possibly having a few permanent Vegetable Beds (which means it restricts the actual work I need to do. One of the current challenges is when a crop is over (like my potatoes), I end up clearing it and have an empty bed. Therefore have to plan to manage this otherwise I shall be carded in the Inspections. This is one of the reasons why I left the Potato plants in for so long and left the Pumpkins.

So for next year, thinking of an Asparagus Bed (which I know will take time to establish before I can enjoy them) as well as taking advantage of a relatively more expensive home-grown crop. Additionally considering a Artichoke Bed which again, will need weeding and maintaining but I am reducing the requirements to chase my own tail!

2 thoughts on “Week 27 Year 3: Storing Pumpkins, Harvesting Fruit & Vegetables and loads and loads of Tomatoes…

  1. Pingback: Week 52 Year 3: Happy 3rd Birthday to my Allotment Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  2. Pingback: Week 40 (Year 4): Pumped up by my Pumpkin ready for Halloween… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

