Week 22 Year 3: Digging up Potatoes & Beans, Growth on Pumpkins and Courgettes…

In the height of the British Summer, it is a good time to spend on the Allotment. It’s warm and sunny and the birds (and parakeets) flutter around enjoying some of the fruits of your labour: and of course, the planes continue to fly into London Heathrow but it’s a busy time and of course, many families and people working down on their Plots.

I have dug up my Second Early Albert Bartlett Osprey potatoes and left only the Pumpkin plant in one of the front beds. These have done quite well although some of the potatoes are bigger than others and many have some slug damage (so I will use them for mashing!)

Harvesting Potatoes and Courgettes

Harvesting Potatoes and Courgettes

My Second Earlies: Albert Bartlett Osprey

My Second Earlies: Albert Bartlett Osprey

Cleared front Potato Raised Bed.

Cleared front Potato Raised Bed.

Did you spot my visitors, who arrived on the ground once I had cleared the potato crop.

A decent crop

A decent crop

My visitor seeking worms and food.

My visitor seeking worms and food.

And a handful of Green stained potatoes which were easy to spot: probably not covered by enough soil and caught by the sun. So these were n’t taken home but left on the side for mother nature and the wildlife to enjoy (if they do!).

Second planting of Runner Beans doing well.

Second planting of Runner Beans doing well.

A shame that this year, no French Beans have sprouted but I am using the space for a second planting of Runner Beans: and these look lush with lots of red flowers.

Even a few corichons.

Even a few corichons.

My Yellow Courgette plant

My Yellow Courgette plant

Pumpkins going Orange!

Pumpkins going Orange!

So I have two Pumpkins which have really grown and are still connected to the Mother Plant. Indeed, they are on separate plants and it wasn’t my intention to just have one fruit on individual plants, but that’s how it is worked out.

A Melon flower on my plants

A Melon flower on my plants

And from seed, I am pleased that a Melon Flower has appeared (alongside a few others). Will have to see if we get Pollinators and actual fruit!

Brassicas doing well in the summer heat.

Brassicas doing well in the summer heat.

So back  to the weeding and certainly tidying up, although we don’t have inspections this month and the FPMAA Office is closed. Unfortunately as Secretary, it means I still have emails and communications to manage (and an increased volume with no open Office) but that’s what you get on and do…

One thought on “Week 22 Year 3: Digging up Potatoes & Beans, Growth on Pumpkins and Courgettes…

Leave a Reply

