Week 20 Year 3: Harvesting Potatoes, Tomato transformations and Pumpkins growing…

Another busy week with lots of growth of my produce, down on my allotment.

Down the Plot

Down the Plot

Despite having Blight on the field, my Tomatoes in the Greenhouse are doing rather well. Whilst I have grown them all from seed, the labels seemed to be lost when they were transferred into the Greenhouse so only now, as they are developing, can I identify some of them:

My Tigerella Tomatoes

My Tigerella Tomatoes

Large wrinkly Tomato

Large wrinkly Tomato

Pear-Shaped Tomatoes

Pear-Shaped Tomatoes

And in a different Raised Bed, my Celery is doing well. It’s meant to be self-blanching and red although it is surrounded by my nasturtiums which I need to better manage.

My Red Celery is established and growing in amongst the Nasturtiums.

My Red Celery is established and growing in amongst the Nasturtiums.

One of my Pumpkins doing rather well

One of my Pumpkins doing rather well

Cucumbers developing outside

Cucumbers developing outside

And my first harvest of potatoes: Albert Bartlett’s Osprey which is one of the most exciting times on my plot: I am still amazed that I plant one single seed potato and a set of five or six large potatoes are produced. These are located at the front of my plot, and only one row was dug up, so I have more to enjoy.

Harvesting Potatoes and Courgettes

Harvesting Potatoes and Courgettes

From Plot to plate: Albert Bartlett Osprey First Earlies

From Plot to plate: Albert Bartlett Osprey Second Earlies

Loving my Potatoes!

Leave a Reply

