Week 18 Year 3: More beautiful Broadbeans and my bountiful Brassicas…

Week 18

Week 18

It’s still raining here in West London. Whilst they’re telling us it’s a little warmer than average, the sunshine doesn’t seem to have arrived as yet and the wetness is encouraging the weeds to flourish.

From Plot to Plate: Courgette and Broadbeans

From Plot to Plate: Courgette and Broadbeans

The “little” courgette has been picked: after I noted the flower had fallen off (probably damaged by the rains) so it was cooked up with some Broadbeans. This was very fresh as it was cooked on the same day of being picked. The rains have really helped “Main Avenue” with lush lavenders bursting into flower. These add colour as well as a great source for the bees.

Lush Lavenders enjoying the June wetness

Lush Lavenders enjoying the June wetness

Although I have to confess that walking down “Main Avenue” is a little difficult as they have really bushed up and out.

Looking down the Plot with lush lavender down Main Avenue.

Looking down the Plot with lush lavender down Main Avenue.

And a small harvest of more Broadbeans, Strawberries, my little courgette and one of my garlics. That is now being dried in the little Greenhouse on the Plot. They seem to be a little rotten (which is probably the rain) and some have rust on them) although I know from experience, this doesn’t affect the bulbs.

Harvesting from the Plot.

Harvesting from the Plot.

My Red Celery has been planted on the Plot and not had much success with this crop before but this was grown from seed and looks fairly healthy at the moment.

Red Celery planted on the Plot.

Red Celery planted on the Plot.

And back in the Greenhouse at home, I reviewed my Bountiful Brassicas which are getting ready to be moved onto the Plot. I have grown many of them from seed (and cheated with some plug plants which actually aren’t doing as well as the ones I have given birth to).

White Star Broccoli

White Star Broccoli

This could be a good crop although some of the leaves are damaged.

Red Arrow Broccoli

Red Arrow Broccoli

Romanesco Natalino Cauliflower

Romanesco Natalino Cauliflower

A whole tray of Cauliflower is doing well: not sure I have the space to take them all over to the Plot so I will select the strongest ones.

Savoy Red Cabbage (and a few more Tomato plants)

Savoy Red Cabbage (and a few more Tomato plants)

Again, grown from Seed with quite a few cabbages: in my head, these are a very traditional crop for Allotments although I don’t really eat them so will have to see how they turn out. And a few more tomato plants: not that I haven’t got enough already!

Mixed Brassicas including Brussels Sprouts.

Mixed Brassicas including Brussels Sprouts.

And this was a selection of Plug Plants which unfortunately was not well labelled when it arrived. I think this includes Brussels Sprouts, Cabbage and maybe more Brocolli). And not pictured but I have Purple Sprouting Broccoli which was also grown from seed. These are doing OK.

Other seeds in the Greenhouse, at the moment include Runner Beans (as a back-up to those directly sown on the Plot).

Greshen Runner Beans (in the Greenhouse).

Greshen Runner Beans (in the Greenhouse).

And Melons: which will probably be placed in the Potato Raised Bed as they can spread and fill the space (when I have harvested them!). Have to see if they grow well and we get some fruit!

My melon plants.

My melon plants.

So back to the Plot do some weeding before Monthly Inspections arrive. (Although, this month as Secretary, I shall be supporting the Inspection process and may end up reviewing my own plot, depending on which Area I can appointed to!). Of course, I shall pass the assessment as I am following the rules, although I do still need to keep on-top of the weeding!

My Plot.

My Plot.

Happy Gardening…

2 thoughts on “Week 18 Year 3: More beautiful Broadbeans and my bountiful Brassicas…

  1. Pingback: Week 45 (Year 3): From Plot to Plate: My Allotment Grown Cabbage… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  2. Pingback: Week 52 Year 3: Happy 3rd Birthday to my Allotment Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

