Week 17 Year 3: Harvesting First Early Potatoes, Broadbeans and more transfers to my Plot…

Week 17

It’s still raining here in Fulham and the weeds are growing quickly and very well: but life on the allotment continues…

First Early Potatoes harvested.

First Early Potatoes harvested.

Of course, the fear is that Blight will arrive on our site, as it’s been so wet so need to consider what chemical controls I could use and /or barriers to protect my Potato crops.

My first courgette: a little small but the only one that's formed so far.

My first courgette: a little small but the only one that’s formed so far.

It’s only small but the plants are still doing well so I hope to have more!

My first Mange Tout

My first Mange Tout

Preparing the ground for Leeks

Preparing the ground for Leeks

The Leeks have been started in a Raised Bed with the Garlic and are ready to be moved: just need some dry weather to move them, but I have started to map them out with holes in  the ground. And a couple of transfers from the Greenhouse at home to the Plot:

Transferred my Gherkin plant to the Plot.

Transferred my Gherkin plant to the Plot.

Another Pumpkin plant transferred to the Plot.

Another Pumpkin plant transferred to the Plot.

And my first Broadbeans were harvested and enjoyed at home, cooked in butter. They tasted really fresh although I was surprised how few beans had formed in the fat skins. Indeed, some had literally one or two beans but there are more to be had soon.

My Broadbean harvest and cooked.

My Broadbean harvest and cooked.

And good to see, despite the slug pellets, the Runner Beans are popping through. I do have some in reserve, in the Greenhouse at home, so I will enjoy these later in the year.

My first Runner Bean has popped up.

My first Runner Bean has popped up.

And the French Beans are starting to grow up the simple frame.

French Beans doing well

French Beans doing well

Looking down the Plot with the grey skies (you wouldn’t believe it’s our British Summer!)

IMG_9305 (3)-opt

2 thoughts on “Week 17 Year 3: Harvesting First Early Potatoes, Broadbeans and more transfers to my Plot…

  1. Pingback: Week 3 (Year 4): Transferring First Early Seed Potatoes and planting Asparagus Plants on my plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

