Week 15 Year 3: Sensational Strawberries, Cucumber Consumed and Courgettes crashing…

More rain and wet weather here in Fulham is helping and hindering the Plot.

The Strawberries are growing and fruiting (which is great although without much sunshine, they’re not that sweet and juicy). I have to pick them very carefully as the slugs are loving them as well.

Strawberries rescued from the Slugs.

Strawberries rescued from the Slugs.

And even more Strawberries collected from my Plot.

And even more Strawberries collected from my Plot.

The slugs are a real problem this year! And inside the greenhouse, the Cucumber plant, transferred in last week has already been destroyed…

Cucumber Plant has been eaten.

Cucumber Plant has been eaten.

Speaking with our Trading Hut plant expert, it has been suggested that slugs ate into the main stem and further leaf damage has been caused by the woodlice (which I were still a wandering when I was down my Plot in the early morning: as they are nocturnal). It is disappointing, and not missing an opportunity, our Trading Hut still has small plants available so I will have to purchase plants and hope they survive otherwise they’ll not be any cucumbers this year as it’s too late to grow them from seed (again!).

Outside the rains have been battering my Courgette plants:

Lots of snapped off stems but the Courgette plants are still going strong.

Lots of snapped off stems but the Courgette plants are still going strong.

The rains have battered my Courgette flowers.

The rains have battered my Courgette flowers.

Several flowers have been snapped off by the power of the recent drenchings but they look strong and are still growing so hope to have courgettes soon!

My Red Celery (grown from seed) has been transferred to the Plot.

My Red Celery (grown from seed) has been transferred to the Plot.

Grown from Seed, my Red Celery has been moved onto the Plot in a Raised Bed (next to

Left side

Left side.

The whole Plot

Right side.

Finally got around to covering my Brassica Bed: in the greenhouse at home, from seed I’m growing Sprouts, White Star Broccoli, Red Arrow Broccoli, Purple Sprouting Broccoli, Romanesco Natalino Cauliflower, Red Savoy Cabbage (all for 1 Raised Bed!). So interesting how all these seedling will fit into this single bed!?

Covered the Brassica Bed.

Covered the Brassica Bed.

So another week where I’m still hoping for a little warmer weather and sunshine!

My Ploy.

My Ploy.

One thought on “Week 15 Year 3: Sensational Strawberries, Cucumber Consumed and Courgettes crashing…

  1. Pingback: Week 52 Year 3: Happy 3rd Birthday to my Allotment Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

