Week 12 Year 3: My first Gooseberry and other Growth: down my Plot…

We’ve been having lots of rain which is helping my crops establish and with warmer times, growth down the plot is taking off (as are the weeds!)

Looking up the Plot

Looking up the Plot

Even the grass alongside my plot is growing quickly: so need to do some strimming as Association Rules require Plot Holders to maintain the paths to ensure wheelbarrows can pass.

The Brassica Bed needs weeding again!

The Brassica Bed needs weeding again!

Nothing yet planted although at home, the Red Cabbage, Purple Sprouting Broccoli and Romesco Cauliflower seeds are all doing well and need potting on.

Blue Lake French beans doing well

Blue Lake French beans doing well

Some of the plants have tentacles and are slowly climbing up the string: indeed, I learnt from the Radio that they travel anti-clock-wise up the string (as do Runner Beans!)

And some of my fruit is taking off: Strawberries are doing well with fruit forming already: boosted by the wet weather. I need to net them over, so that the birds don’t eat them!

Strawberry fruit is forming

Strawberry fruit is forming

And after planting a Gooseberry plant last year, it is exciting to see one fruit has formed: again, I will need to protect it from the local wildlife as I am sure it probably wont survive. Thinking about moving this and some of the other fruit bushes into a Raised Bed, so that I can better manage them for the future but we shall see what happens.

My first Gooseberry

My first Green Gooseberry

And next to it is my Blackcurrant bush which also has fruit forming. Not sure I will have enough to make my own Ribena but lets wait and see…

A few Blackcurrants popping through.

A few Blackcurrants popping through.

And next door, on the corner my three Blueberry plants have flowered and now actual berries are appearing although they don’t look very blue. Last year, they were eaten by the birds despite netting!

And some Blueberries

And some Blueberries

And further down the Plot, my Courgettes are forming flowers so maybe they will produce very soon.

The slugs have been attacking the flowers on my Courgettes

The slugs have been attacking the flowers on my Courgettes

 

Even in the Greenhouse, Tomoatoes & Red Peppers are establishing

Even in the Greenhouse, Tomatoes & Red Peppers are establishing

So lots of growth down my plot!

Leave a Reply

