Week 10 Year 3: Transferring French Beans & Courgettes onto the Plot…

Another busy week with transfers from the little Greenhouse at home to the Plot.

Courgettes transferred onto the Plot

Courgettes transferred onto the Plot

My Black Beauty Courgettes are now in a Raised Bed. Of course, I have used Slug Pellets to protect the young plants and they should start producing fruit soon. Despite all being planted at the same time, I feel like I have a small one, a medium one, a slightly larger one and a large one! But that’s Mother Nature.

Before planting my Blue Lake French Beans

Before planting my Blue Lake French Beans but with Nasturtiums

And Blue Lake French Beans have been planted onto the Plot (with some Nasturtiums, again to encourage the Slugs to eat these flowers and NOT my Beans).

After planting Blue Lake French Beans

After planting Blue Lake French Beans

The simple string supports the frame and looking forward to trying these Beans soon.

Looking Up my Plot

Looking Up my Plot

First Early Potatoes coming up

First Early Potatoes coming up

Some of the Seed Potatoes are doing well and coming up in neat rows. I don’t know why but the Radish and Lettuce which was sown directly in the soil (in the ridge in between the rows of potatoes) haven’t germinated (or if they have my local wildlife has eaten the seedlings).

Garlic doing well (with Leeks popping through)

Garlic doing well (with Leeks popping through)

The Garlic is slowly turning: leaves are going a little yellow and frail, with a few odd ones not growing at all. I did sow Leek seeds in the gap and hopeful that they will grow into pencil thick specimens before I move them, and plant them into a new Raised Bed. Not quite sure which one yet but I have always done OK with Leeks both in my first year, and in my second year.

And if I get time, I must plant my Carrots. I prepared two long sandy trenches but as yet, I haven’t planted any which have always been a challenge in the clay-soil of Fulham Palace Meadow Allotment Association!

But back to the weeding!

Leave a Reply

