Week 8 Year 3: Transferring Tomatoes into the Greenhouse, More Main Crop Potatoes & Building my French Bean Frame…

The weather is settling down so I have no excuses not go on my plot and get it ready for the growing season. Indeed, it is a busy time of year with lots happened:

Whilst weeding, I had a visitor who loved my freshly dug Raised Beds.

Whilst weeding, I had a visitor who loved my freshly dug Raised Beds.

And sitting a top my sprouting First Early Potatoes

And sitting a top my sprouting First Early Potatoes

Weeding is important as I am still fighting Bind Weed on my plot. Good to see the local nature: Robins visiting me once I had cleared some of the weeds and freshly turned the soil: hunting for worms and eating the ants!

Weeding down the back

Weeding down the back

Keeping it neat and tidy and giving space to my LadyBird Poppies: I bought one single plant last year and it has self-seeded on the Plot with dozens of little ones so let’s see how they turn up and turn out.

Freshly Weeded

Freshly Weeded

Getting ready for French Beans with the rail (I used last year for Runner Beans). I just need to add some string and it will be support for my French Beans which are growing back at home.

Remodelling "Main Avenue" at the front of the Plot.

Re-modelling “Main Avenue” at the front of the Plot.

After moving the compost heap (from the front right hand corner to the back), I have gained a new Raised Bed which I am hopeful should produce good crops (but we shall have to see) and so a little re-modelling of “Main Avenue” with some additional black grasses and lavenders required to keep the theme consistent (soon).

Last Seed Potatoes planted: Maris Piper

Last Seed Potatoes planted: Maris Piper

So all my potatoes are in the ground. Let’s hope for a good harvest. And finally, a quick look at my Peas…

Peas are growing (rather slowly)

Peas are growing (rather slowly)

So hoping for warmer weather so the Peas can get going (as they seem quite late this year!) unlike last years.

 

Leave a Reply

