Week 5 Year 3: Planting Second Early Albert Bartlett’s Osprey Potatoes on my plot and Tomato Seeds sown…

This week, my chitting Second Early Potatoes were definitely ready to be planted on my plot. They have been chitting for a few weeks after being purchased in December.

Before and After

Before and After

They new Raised Bed at the front of the Plot (which previously held my Raspberries and my compost, has been transformed to a more formal Raised Bed.

New Raised bed with Second Early Potatoes

New Raised bed with Second Early Potatoes

They look like Mole Hills but from previous history, I have found digging holes and filling them with manure, and dropping the seed potato in, works for me. Whilst I haven’t tried Osprey before, I have successfully grown Purple Majesty Potatoes from Albert Bartlett and really enjoyed them, so I have high hopes for these Second Early potatoes.

My New Raised Bed at the front of my plot.

My New Raised Bed at the front of my plot.

And back at home, I have planted some more Tomato plants (ready for growing in my new Greenhouse). These include Costoluto Di Parma (really fat juicy ones) as well as little plum like ones Principle Borghese. If anything, I will have too many plants but already the slugs are eating some of my seedlings, so you have to manage wastage and losses!

Tomato sowing

Tomato sowing

More Tomato Sowings

More Tomato Sowings

So back to the weeding…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Week 5 Year 3: Planting Second Early Albert Bartlett’s Osprey Potatoes on my plot and Tomato Seeds sown…

Leave a Reply

