Week 4 Year 3: Transferring Garlic, Planting on the Plot and Sowing at home…

Another busy week of Allotmenteering with activties both on the plot as well as in the greenhouse at home:

Down the Plot: I have transferred my Garlic (Red Duke and Wight Solent) onto the Plot (in a Raised Bed with Bella Garlic which has over-wintered) and some seed sown with Leeks: Musselburgh & Porbella (in with the Garlic whilst the establish) before being planted elsewhere on the Plot.

Musselburgh Leeks

Musselburgh Leeks

Porbella Leeks sown on my plot

Porbella Leeks sown on my plot

And Radish and Swiss Chard sown in rows next to the Potatoes

And Radish and Swiss Chard sown in rows next to the Potatoes

At home, new plantings have included Nasturtiums, Pumpkin (Racer F1), Watermelon (Valentine) and my Chilli pepper plants (which arrived in the post).

Pumkin and Watermelon plants sown.

Pumkin and Watermelon plants sown.

New Seeds sown at home and transfers

New Seeds sown at home and transfers

My Cosmos Purity seedlings are doing well, so I have transferred them into individual paper pots (so they can be planted on my Plot).

Cosmos seeds separated and potted on.

Cosmos seeds separated and potted on.

And down the Plot, I have used some of the RHS Hampton Court Silver-Medal winning mulch on my Strawberries. I find that this material has really helped in suppressing weeds as well as providing a good visual blanket to keep on top of my Strawberries. It makes it look much neater:

On the Plot

On the Plot

And as per Week 3, I have added the Christmas Tree (in a pot) next to the new Greenhouse, in an effort to reduce the impact on the side (from both the wind as well as possible wheelbarrows passing-by).

After Dressing the Strawberries

After Dressing the Strawberries

But more to be done and prepared for: Need to plant my Second Early Potatoes (Albert Bartlett Osprey) as well as finish preparations for the new Brassica Raised Bed and move some more of my rogue strawberries (into a side bed)…

Leave a Reply

