Week 3 Year 3: First Early Potatoes, Sowing Seeds and growing from seedlings…

Another busy week down the Allotment and in the garden:

The remaining two sets of First Early Potatoes were planted in the Potato Raised Bed (with my Red Duke of York) joined by Sharpe’s Express and Homeguard First Earlies:

New First Early Potatoes planted on my plot

New First Early Potatoes planted on my plot

And new seeds sown in the greenhouse: Aubergine, Romanesco broccoli also known as Roman cauliflower, Broccolo Romanesco, Romanesque cauliflower or simply Romanesco which is because I’ve never had much success with traditional cauliflowers on my plot. And some Purple Sprouting broccoli and Red Savoy Cabbage: a new Brassica Raised Bed will be grown this year (as you can probably tell from my seed selection).

New plantings sown

New plantings sown

And good to see some growth coming already from the seeds that I have planted. Already there are signs of life with my Courgettes, Celery, Red Peppers and Basil.

Some growth coming through

Some growth coming through

Transferring my Ailsa Craig Onion seeds

Transferring my Ailsa Craig Onion seeds

And after a few weeks of growth, it was time to pot on my Ailsa Craig onions which are doing well. These might be my award-winning onions which I plan to enter into the Fulham Horticultural Show (later in the year). Will have to see if they do fatten up and grow as planned!

So back to the Plot!

One thought on “Week 3 Year 3: First Early Potatoes, Sowing Seeds and growing from seedlings…

  1. Pingback: Week 5 Year 3: Planting Second Early Albert Bartlett’s Osprey Potatoes on my plot and Tomato Seeds sown… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

