Celebrating Two Years of my Big Allotment Challenge down my Plot…

Of course, Facebook was quick  to remind me that I have had my Allotment Plot at Fulham Palace Meadows Allotments for exactly two years and I was reminded of how shocked I was, when I arrived to inspect my new plot to a busy but productive first year with lots of good crops produced, eaten and enjoyed including Brussels Sprouts, Pumpkins, Runner Beans, Courgettes, Summer salad including tomatoes, cucamelons and lettuce, pickling cucamelons and shallots, Peas,  Elephant Garlic, Potatoes,Calabrese and French Beans, Flowers, Strawberries which we made into jam.

From Week 1, Year 1 to two years later!

From Week 1, Year 1 to two years later!

Whilst it helps to have bright sunshine, the clearing away of the plot took weeks and the structure of Raised Beds has really helped me keep it organised and tidy.

Day 1: What a mess!

Day 1: What a mess!

But good to recall the progress made. It looked worst than it really was although Two Years Later, there is still much to be done. Indeed, Main Avenue is looking good with my lavender and black grasses making it presentable (although I plan to propagate some more Lavender plants as I have some patchy bits, and the wood chippings need refreshing).

Looking down the Plot: What progress!

Looking down the Plot: What progress!

And during my second year, I have enjoyed possibly the world’s smallest carrots, beans and pumpkins, entering the Allotment’s Large Vegetable Competition (including a Third Place for my Pumpkin), pickling American Gherkins and harvesting potatoes (including Purple ones!)

Shed Joy From Day 1 to 2 Years

Shed Joy From Day 1 to 2 Years

The Blue two-tone shed and pergola with a raised seating area have been well-used after two-years of developing my plot.

Its taken TWO YEARS

Its taken TWO YEARS

And had a lovely nod from the RHS after entering their “Top of the Crops” Facebook competition celebrating my produce from my plot:

The lovely complimentary comments from the RHS.

The lovely complimentary comments from the RHS.

But more to be done as they’re always jobs to be done, like getting ready for the new Greenhouse so back to the weeding…

 

5 thoughts on “Celebrating Two Years of my Big Allotment Challenge down my Plot…

  1. Pingback: Week 52 Year 3: Happy 3rd Birthday to my Allotment Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

