Week 44 Year 2: Planting new Garlic bulbs and Broad Bean seeds, Moving rogue Garlic and Harvesting Leeks…

Down on the Plot, with heavy wet clouds...

Down on the Plot, with heavy wet clouds…

After planting some garlic bulbs in soil trays at home, it’s time to head back  to the Plot to do the same. Whilst it is rather wet and wintry, I’m a little late to get them in the ground, so needs must:

Planting Garlic (Red Duke and Solent Wight) on the Plot

Planting Garlic (Red Duke and Solent Wight) on the Plot

My Red Duke is like a Elephant Garlic, and I split the bulb into 6 cloves and individually dug holes for them.

Planting Red Duke Garlic.

Planting Red Duke Garlic.

Then I covered it over and used bamboo sticks to mark the cloves (so I don’t plant over them) before they pop up. And my Solent Wight was planted in  trench (as it split into many little cloves):

Planting Solent Wight garlic.

Planting Solent Wight garlic.

This long trench was filled back in after the cloves were placed (right way up, with the root tip into the ground). If they all come up, I may need to thin them out but lets see what happens. I hope that I do not suffer with Rust again, as last year, I pulled them up as they became all very unsightly (in Week 12 Year 2). And decided to tidy up the raised beds and start the process of moving rogue Garlics which have sprouted from last year. (I had some issue with some Solent Wight softneck garlics) as not all of them were harvested and so I have little pockets of Garlic appearing).

Moving Rogue Garlic (Solent Wight from 2015).

Moving Rogue Garlic (Solent Wight from 2015).

Planting more Solent Wight Garlic (sprouted from 2015)

Planting more Solent Wight Garlic (sprouted from 2015)

These have been moved to a new raised bed, and of course, placed in neat rows, so will have to see if they take off. I also spent a little time clearing the soil before I planted Broad Bean Seeds. Last week, I planted some in soil trays at home, so these are going straight into the ground on the Plot. The Green Windsor Broad Beans and Masterpiece Green Longpod Broad Beans were planted by pushing them into the soft soil with my thumb. Spacing was rather rough and approximate although I note there were less Green Longpod Beans in the packet, so these have been spaced out a little wider (top line) than the Green Windsor Beans.

Broad Beans with Garlic and trimmed Lavender bushes on Main Avenue.

Broad Beans with Garlic and trimmed Lavender bushes on Main Avenue.

Trimmed back the Lavender plants along my “Main Avenue”. They have done well and whilst they are still growing, they should keep their shape and stay bushy. And Broad Beans:

Plamnting Broad Beans on the Plot.

Planting Broad Beans on the Plot.

And always great to harvest my crops. The Leeks are a great crop as once they’re established, they seem to do rather well.

My first harvest of Leeks in 2016

My first harvest of Leeks in 2016

Already planted some new Leeks plants for this year (week 43), so lets see what happens with them.

And soon need to start chitting my potatoes and continue to move rogue Garlic plants, sprouting in my beds, complete some burning (as we’ve trimmed back the Rose Hip tree at the back of the plot) in preparation for a new Green house and some further crop moves!) and tidying up of the paths.

2 thoughts on “Week 44 Year 2: Planting new Garlic bulbs and Broad Bean seeds, Moving rogue Garlic and Harvesting Leeks…

  1. Pingback: Week 51 Year 2: Loving Allotment grown Leeks and Preparing the ground for the new Growing Season… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

