Week 42 Year 2: Planting Garlic, Leeks & Onions for 2016, and Rental Renewals on the Allotment…

Happy New Year!

Another calendar year has arrived and so has the growing season. I have started to plant my seeds already, of course, in the Greenhouse. Starting with Garlic (bought from The Garlic Farm at a Food show I attended), I have planted Red Duke Garlic which surprised me as it was like an Elephant Garlic with about 6 small individual cloves which I have planted in trays. Alongside my Solent Wight Garlic (which broke up into 13 individual cloves) which I planted all of them. Indeed, I purchased two bulbs of each variety, so will plant one of each, into the ground on the plot. Last year, the garlic went in straight away but a few weeks ago so already, I’m playing catch up!

Garlic: Red Duke & Solent Wight planted in soil trays.

Garlic: Red Duke & Solent Wight planted in soil trays.

And Leeks, which have done well on my plot previously include Tadorna Blue Green and Lyon 2, which I have planted in Year 1.

Leeks: Tadorna Blue Green

Leeks: Tadorna Blue Green

Leeks: Lyon 2

Leeks: Lyon 2

And after the relative success of my Southport Onions, I decided to grow Ailsa Craig Onions  (which I may enter into the Fulham Horticultural Show later in the year: if they grow well!).

Ailsa Craig Onions

Ailsa Craig Onions

And down the plot, as Assistant Secretary of FPMAA, I launched new 100% Cotton Fair Trade bags with a new logo for our Association. Celebrating our 100 years, this new logo has been incorporated into a handy bag which we shall sell to Plot Holders. In addition, the annual process for Association /Renewals commenced where, with other volunteers, we sold nearly 100 bags on it’s launch day.

FPMAA 100 Years Bags-opt

Rental Renewals at FPMAA

Rental Renewals at FPMAA

With the wet weather, it was good that another volunteer had lit a fire as the queue snaked around from the Tea Hut and onto the plots. Next weekend, the weather will be just as bad, and we shall have several hundred members paying their annual fees /association renewal, so another opportunity to sell the bags!

With Star Wars still so popular and part of my reflection in December 2015, May the Weather be With YOU!

One thought on “Week 42 Year 2: Planting Garlic, Leeks & Onions for 2016, and Rental Renewals on the Allotment…

  1. Pingback: Week 44 Year 2: Planting new Garlic bulbs and Broad Bean seeds, Moving rogue Garlic and Harvesting Leeks… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

