Week 41 Year 2: (Probably) the world’s smallest carrots and post-Christmas bargains (potato tubers & onion sets)…

In the period in-between Christmas & New Year, being away from home, I haven’t spend much time down the Plot. After a mild beginning of December, Winter returned with wet showers and deluges of rain so perhaps it was a good thing to be away for a few days…

It gave me a chance to pop into a local Garden Centre ( Webbs) and see what bargains I could find! They’re such a destination now with pet food, christmas sundry items, Lakeland as well as food, drinks, a cafe, a restaurant and oh, so plants and gardening equipment! I found some Onion Sets (which were discounted down to 50p and then again to 10p) so I had to pick them up. Of course, they should have been already planted but for a few pennies, if I get a few onions out of the packs, then I’ll be happy.

Bargain Sets of Onions (10p each!)

Bargain Sets of Onions (10p each!)

With the wet weather, I know I need to get them planted, so I planted them in trays: Troy Onions and Senshyu Yellow Onions and see what happens when they’ve sprouted and started to root.

Troy Onions & Senshyu Yellow Onions in trays.

Troy Onions & Senshyu Yellow Onions in trays.

Also planted some Broad Beans (Masterpiece Green Longpod and Green Windsor [a Heritage Broad Bean]). I didn’t try these last year but they should produce good so have saved some seeds to go straight into the ground!

Planted in trays.

Planted in trays.

And picked up some potato tubers (which was a surprise given I have still a few months before the ground will be soft enough to plant them). Of course, I had to pick up 15 for £2:

Potatoes on offer (I couldn't resist them!)

Potatoes on offer (I couldn’t resist them!)

I seem to prefer First Early potatoes as they seem to do well, and timing wise, it allows for more planting on the plot: indeed, Sharpe’s Express were grown on my plot last year! And looking forward to Home Guard, a new variety for me to try, along with the Red Duke of York potatoes.

Picking Carrots

Picking Carrots

Back on the Plot, I did go and pull up some carrots, in the hope that they might have grown a little more. On a previous picking I was a little disappointed by the size, and unfortunately, they do not seem to be growing much more! I also laid over a tunnel, to warm up the soil, as I might put in my Broad Beans with some Garlic in that bed.

A grey day on Plot 225.

A grey day on Plot 225.

But excited for 2016, as Fulham Palace Meadows Allotment Association is 100 years young. Already planning to update our logo, celebrating our birthday as well as introducing a new 100% cotton bag for sale to our Plot Holders and members (to support raising funds for new benches and other shared facilities). As Assistant Secretary, I am preparing the launch, co-ordinated with our Annual Rental Renewals, which take place on the first Sundays in 2016…

4 thoughts on “Week 41 Year 2: (Probably) the world’s smallest carrots and post-Christmas bargains (potato tubers & onion sets)…

  1. Pingback: Celebrating Two Years of my Big Allotment Challenge down my Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  2. Pingback: Week 52 Year 3: Happy 3rd Birthday to my Allotment Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

