Week 40 Year 2: In the bleak Mid-Winter or “The [Winter] Force Awakens”…

It’s Christmas (well, nearly) but the Allotment still keeps going as it started “In a galaxy, far, far away…” and still requires a little work; even in the bleak mid-winter.

"The [Gardening] Force is strong with this one"

The [Gardening] Force is strong with this one

Strange to see so many empty Raised Beds on my plot as I have cleared many of the weeds, dead shrubbery and even the leaves (where I can) to keep it tidy during the Winter. My Onions are going strong, with lots of growth now that I have brought up the netting, although I should rescue the pigeon which has fallen over!

"Judge me by my size, do you?"

Judge me by my size, do you?”

After splitting and moving my Rhubarb a few weeks ago, I was really pleased to see two of the three new plants having growth spurting through the manure. It should be a good spot, at the front of the plot, for next year and I am hopeful, despite the official advice, of using some of the leaves for crumbles and maybe even some jam, next year.

"You were to bring balance to the force, not leave it in darkness" although I should with my Rhubarb.

You were to bring balance to the force, not leave it in darkness” although I should with my Rhubarb.

Maybe I shall FORCE some Rhubarb for next year as the growth coming through looks really strong. Strange to see Garlic appearing in the new Raised Bed full of Strawberry plants. I know that I didn’t clear it out properly, therefore, it is old soft neck Garlic which has started to pop up again! And the carrots still aren’t doing much.

“What a piece of junk!”

What a piece of junk!”

Need to think about moving it (at least into straight lines) as it has just appeared and destroys my neatness!

"We had a reactor LEEK here now. Give us a few minutes to lock it down. Large LEEK, very dangerous"

“We had a reactor LEEK here now. Give us a few minutes to lock it down. Large LEEK, very dangerous”

My Leeks are doing rather well in the bed in front of the Shed. These are keeping going, despite the weather and until the get a little fatter, I think I will leave them. They are a nice easy crop and one I look forwards to repeating next year.

"YAHOOOOO! You're all clear, kid. Now let's blow this thing and go home.”

“YAHOOOOO! You’re all clear, kid. Now let’s blow this thing and go home.

In the Tea Hut, FPMAA celebrated Christmas with a great party for our Plot Holders. Lots of Mince Pies, snacks and of course Mulled Wine for all the Jedi family was enjoyed. (It seems strange that we’re an allotment growing our own and many; all natural, and yet we have a plastic Christmas Tree but then like many families, it comes out once a year, and once the festivities are finished, it will be put back in a box until next year!). The “tent” set-up by the Trading Hut, Tea Hut & Office, decorated for the Holidays:

"General Solo, but it appears that you are to be the main course at a banquet in my honor"

“General Solo, but it appears that you are to be the main course at a banquet in my honor”

And a little bit of time in the warmth of the Office getting ready for the Annual Renewals:

"These aren’t the droids you’re looking for … He can go about his business"

“These aren’t the droids you’re looking for … He can go about his business”

As Assistant Secretary, rushed around to put up signage around the Plot to remind our Plot Holders about the Annual Renewals process, which takes place in early January. Of course, once you’ve paid your rent, you can go about managing your own plot!

And not everyone will map out their plot and keep it like me, but that’s the beauty of having an Allotment: You can do your own thing!

Looking down from the Shed.

Looking down from the Shed.

“Fear is the path to the dark side.”

“Fear is the PATH to the dark side.”

“Central Avenue” looking clear on my plot. The lavender has done well and I have some drying in the shed (so maybe I’ll make something from the dried aromatic buds) but time for wrapping presents and keeping warm, so MAY THE WEATHER BE WITH YOU! 

 

2 thoughts on “Week 40 Year 2: In the bleak Mid-Winter or “The [Winter] Force Awakens”…

  1. Pingback: Week 42 Year 2: Planting Garlic, Leeks & Onions for 2016, and Rental Renewals on the Allotment… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

