Week 38 Year 2: Winter is Coming…

Winter is coming! And arrived on my plot as we’ve had more wet weather, very windy conditions and on-off rain. (I shouldn’t complain as I’ve seen many pictures on Facebook of plots submerged in fields of water but it is bitterly cold down the plot).  Whilst the rest of the world seem to be listening to Christmas Music and worrying about deliveries after Black Friday and Cyber Monday, it’s so nice to spend a little bit of quiet time down my allotment.

Primarily it was to check-up on the little crops that are still growing in the bleak-mid winter:

My Over Winter Onions and my Leeks

My Over Winter Onions and my Leeks

Good that I have raised the netting over the Onions, as they are all growing rather well and in the former Strawberry bed, they have found a good new home. Some of the damaged leaves should recover, now that they have space to push up and grow even more.

And even though, it is a little late, it was time to move my Raspberries. From the very front of the plot (by the Compost Bin) to the back, running alongside the Shed.

Digging up Raspberries

Digging up Raspberries

It’s one of the few crops which I hadn’t moved since I’ve had the plot, as they were so established and growing well, but with bind-weed and positioning of a new Greenhouse, it was time. After digging the new bed, and adding some manure, a handful of raspberry plants were lifted, before planting neatly in rows. After watering them in, I chopped them back.

Moving Raspberries to a new bed (by the Shed).

Moving Raspberries to a new bed (by the Shed).

And of course, after Jack Frost’s work on my plants, it was timely to clear up the messy leaves and remains.

Clearing the frosted greenery.

Before and After clearing the frosted greenery.

And whilst there isnt much growing, it was an opportunity to review my plans and consider planting for next year. At the front, a new Greenhouse will support a longer growing season for Tomatoes, Watermelons and some other salad crops.

Looking from the Front

Looking from the Front where a new Greenhouse will go. 

Looking down from the Shed.

Looking down from the Shed.

Looking down from the seating area at empty raised beds.

Looking down from the seating area at empty raised beds.

Now need to prepare my ground for some Garlic Bulbs and of course, I want to sow my Onion Seeds soon, so they’ll be award winning Onions!?

 

Leave a Reply

