Week 29 Year 2: After a holiday, its great to be back on the plot: collecting produce, blanching beans, moving onions (twice) and eating plot-grown salad…

When you return from a holiday, it is so exciting to go down to your plot and enjoy harvesting the produce. Whilst I might have been exploring foreign shores, the vegetables and fruit have been growing well (despite no one watering!).

So what produce did I collect?

So many Runner Beans (Enorma & Scarlett Emperor) that I had to blanch some of them. After removing the skins and chopping (with a very clever tool), I made three bags for the freezer (1x 320g, 2x 200g). These were boiled for two minutes and then cooled in cold water before drying and freezing…

My Rocket leaves have taken off and tasted so peppery with a few of my plot grown tomatoes. What a treat!

I confess the radish weren’t eaten (as we don’t like them) but they were pulled up and removed alongside beautiful chrysanthemums, which have done rather well on the plot. Indeed, managed to make two lovely bouquets from the flowers!

The fruit on my Pumpkin plant have been growing. Indeed, there has been a birth of a further third fruit, whilst the first two fruits are growing. I hope the weather stays warm enough to firm them up and make them yellow rather than the green!

And despite the lateness of the season, I am hopeful for a Watermelon. This special grafted plant has suddenly produced two fruits and although it is very late, maybe they will grow and I can enjoy my first plot grown melon!

Maybe with some Jet-lag, I decided to pull up the radish and plant my over-winter onions in it’s place. Only later realizing that our decision to get a Greenhouse means that a some point, that raised bed will be covered over. Therefore, later in the week, the recently planted seed onions were moved. The strawberry patch (which was cleared before the holiday) was sieved and lots of bind weed moved. A new home for the Senshyn Onions for Winter and most of Spring. I also have some red Onions to be planted there as well.

And back to the weeding…

One thought on “Week 29 Year 2: After a holiday, its great to be back on the plot: collecting produce, blanching beans, moving onions (twice) and eating plot-grown salad…

  1. Pingback: Week 30 Year 2: More Harvest Feast-ivals, Clearing (blighted) Tomatoes and More Over-Wintering Onions on the Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

