Year 2 Week 18: Harvesting beautiful Purple Majesty Potatoes & waxy Sharpe’s Express Potatoes, And transferring Runners & French Beans….

Another busy week down my allotment with the harvesting of Purple Majesty Potatoes (which are really purple inside as well as outside!) and plenty of beautifully waxy Charlotte Potatoes. They have done rather well this year and looking forward to enjoying them at home.

Amazed to see the purpleness of the roots from my Purple Majesty Potatoes.

A decent harvest from just four seed potato

My Sharpe’s Express (first early) and Charlotte (second early) potatoes. A good harvest.

Lovely new potatoes being boiled.

Red Rooster Potatoes in flower. Such a pretty one!

And despite my unsuccessful germinating beans, I have cheated and bought Blue Lake French Bean plants and Runner Beans (Enorma & Scarlett Emperor) plants which were transferred onto the plot.

New Blue Lake plants transferred to my plot (where garlic and onions where grown).

Runner beans transferred to the plot. (Enorma & Scarlett Emperor). Once they are established, I shall string them up!

Some salad crops (spring onions, mixed leaves and radish planted).

Leeks finally transferred into holes (unfilled) so that they fatten up.

And back to the weeding…

5 thoughts on “Year 2 Week 18: Harvesting beautiful Purple Majesty Potatoes & waxy Sharpe’s Express Potatoes, And transferring Runners & French Beans….

  1. Pingback: Week 41 Year 2: (Probably) the world’s smallest carrots and post-Christmas bargains (potato tubers & onion sets)… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  2. Pingback: Celebrating Two Years of my Big Allotment Challenge down my Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  3. Pingback: Week 5 Year 3: Planting Second Early Albert Bartlett’s Osprey Potatoes on my plot and Tomato Seeds sown… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  4. Pingback: Week 8 Year 3: Transferring Tomatoes into the Greenhouse, More Main Crop Potatoes & Building my French Bean Frame… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  5. Pingback: Week 52 Year 3: Happy 3rd Birthday to my Allotment Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

