Year 2 Week 14: Harvesting Strawberries & (first early) potatoes and transferring Onions, Sweetcorn, Gherkins and Cucamelons…

Strawberries and my harvest of potatoes.

With so many strawberries, we shall have to make jam!

After planting these Pentland Javelin (First Earlies) in Week 4, they’ve finished and look ready so I dug them up.

Found a few rogue red potatoes (which must be from last year as I had Desiree potatoes in this raised bed – so much for my planning and crop rotation!)

Also moved over from the greenhouse, my Southport Globe Onions which I have been growing from seed. These have been placed in my very front bed in neat rows so they should be a good crop to have in the sunshine and “on show”. I will have to keep an eye on these as I transplant some T&M Onions earlier in the year, but they didn’t seem to take off and do anything in this bed so I pulled them out (well, what was left of them after the birds had pulled many of them out).

Also transferred over to the plot was my Sundance Sweetcorn, my one Cucamelon Plant and my American Gherkins.

My one Cucuamelon Plant and five American Gherkin plants moved to the plot.

My Sundance Sweetcorn protected with plastic bottles against the pigeons and parakeets.

 

2 thoughts on “Year 2 Week 14: Harvesting Strawberries & (first early) potatoes and transferring Onions, Sweetcorn, Gherkins and Cucamelons…

  1. Pingback: Week 30 Year 2: More Harvest Feast-ivals, Clearing (blighted) Tomatoes and More Over-Wintering Onions on the Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  2. Pingback: Week 42 Year 2: Planting Garlic, Leeks & Onions for 2016, and Rental Renewals on the Allotment… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

