Week 44: Winter Maintenace and adding mulch to my raised beds

Well, it’s damned cold on the Allotment but quiet and peaceful. On a rare sunny afternoon, a few hours of Winter Maintenance was required: clearing spent produce and preparing the ground for new crops.

The former salad leaves, Sweet Peas and flower Raised Bed with Winter Onions has been cleared.

The Swiss Chard has been cleared.

Mulch (influenced by what the Gardeners have done at Charlottenburg, Berlin), using my Xmas Tree to protect my shallots and garlic.

Started to harvest my Leeks and clear the space ready for new crops.

And more beautiful Leeks.

One thought on “Week 44: Winter Maintenace and adding mulch to my raised beds

  1. Pingback: Week 44: Winter Maintenace and adding mulch to my raised beds | My Big Allotment Challenge | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

