Week 41 (Merry Christmas): Do we serve allotment-grown Bedford Brussels Sprouts for Christmas 2014?

Despite the cooler climate and the wintry weather, I had to visit the Plot on Christmas Eve, primarily to collect the Bedford Brussels Sprouts for our Christmas Dinner.

Would they be ready? Would there be enough? Do I have green fingers or just green thumbs?

In the cage, the Sprout plants have been well protected.

Some have really flourished in these conditions.

Some Sprout plants have really flourished in these conditions.

And others have grown strong and firm but still quite small.

And others have grown strong and firm but still quite small.

My Bedford Brussels Sprouts.

A good harvest of my Bedford Brussels Sprouts.

From early on back in Week 10, when the small plants were transferred onto my plot, I knew I had a good pack of seeds. I did, of course, plant at least half of the seed packet and then as many of the plants as I could onto the plot, that I had to thin them out back in Week 19. By Week 32, they were performing well, growing in statue and size.

Allotment grown Sprouts on my Christmas Dinner plate.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Week 41 (Merry Christmas): Do we serve allotment-grown Bedford Brussels Sprouts for Christmas 2014?

  1. Pingback: Week 52; My Big Allotment Challenge First Anniversary… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  2. Pingback: Celebrating Two Years of my Big Allotment Challenge down my Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  3. Pingback: Week 52 Year 3: Happy 3rd Birthday to my Allotment Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

