Week 33: My Spook-tacular Pumpkin ready for Halloween with Jack o’Lantern Blaze Highlights (and previously home-carved pumpkins)…

So my largest Pumpkin grown from seed was ready this week. It had been precariously holding onto it’s Mother-vine but finally it was ready to leave after harvesting three last week (Week 31) (from little tiny fruits back in Week 23)

My largest Pumpkin at the end.

Lovely colour

My Largest Pumpkin weighted in at 8.180 Kg.

And my Black Beauty Marrows.

New Jernor Shallots planted in neat rows. Added old coffee grounds on top to put off slugs.


Although for Halloween, I was lucky to be in New York City and visit Van Courtlandt Manor. At their Blaze Festival, some 5,000 carved pumpkins are on show, displayed with haunting lights and spooky music. A great wander was enjoyed…

At the entrance a Pumpkin Arch awaits all visitors as does the headless rider from Washington Irving’s famous tale, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and a birthday cake for their 10th celebration.

Amazing skeletons, scarecrows and pumpkin displays.

A Chinese dragon or the Loch ness monster with a clock of pumpkins.

Circus Animals and a huge Spiders web all made with carved pumpkins.


Amazing to see this “art”. Different from what I did manage (back in 2012) when they were entered into a competition at Fortnums & Masons, and displayed in their windows:

On display in Fortnum & Mason.

On display in Fortnum & Mason.

Inspired by our British stamps with the Queens Head.

Inspired by our British stamps with the Queens Head.

Inspired by London 2012 and the London Torch and Stadium.

Inspired by London 2012 and the London Torch and Stadium.

Having experimented with my own carvings, I know the hard work and effort required to make these large fruits presentable, beautiful and entertaining! I think this year, I will just eat them!

3 thoughts on “Week 33: My Spook-tacular Pumpkin ready for Halloween with Jack o’Lantern Blaze Highlights (and previously home-carved pumpkins)…

  1. Pingback: Week 52; My Big Allotment Challenge First Anniversary… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  2. Pingback: Celebrating Two Years of my Big Allotment Challenge down my Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  3. Pingback: Week 52 Year 3: Happy 3rd Birthday to my Allotment Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

