Week 27: Progress with Pumpkins & Potatoes…

 

Another week and I’ve lost another Pumpkin. I have had them resting on matting but the slugs and other insects have been eating away at it. It had become lose from the vine which didnt help but managed to save some of the flesh and enjoyed roasting it. Using a simple recipe (Olive Oil, Salt, Pepper & my Elephant Garlic: it was roasted on baking paper in  the oven for 40 minutes and was rather tasty!).

At Week 27, my 4 remaining pumpkins after another one was "lost" due to Mother Nature and slug damage.

At Week 27, my 4 remaining pumpkins after another one was “lost” due to Mother Nature and slug damage.

The "Final Four" Pumpkins on my Plot. Lets see whether they last until Halloween.

The “Final Four” Pumpkins on my Plot. Lets see whether they last until Halloween.

My rotten Pumpkin.

My rotten Pumpkin but tasty…

In Week 27, the damaged pumpkin (which started to rot and get eaten by slugs /insects) has been roasted with Elephant Garlic, Salt & Pepper.

In Week 27, the damaged pumpkin (which started to rot and get eaten by slugs /insects) has been roasted with Elephant Garlic, Salt & Pepper.

And my penultimate Main Crop Potatoes was harvested completely this week removing the last five plants of Setanta Potatoes. I still have to harvest Caro Potatoes (and keep monitoring my Christmas ones).

The final Setanta Potatoes harvested from my plot. (The raised bed will be used for over-wintering Onions and maybe Garlic).

The final Setanta Potatoes harvested from my plot. (The raised bed will be used for over-wintering Onions and maybe Garlic).

My final harvest of Setanta Potatoes in Week 27.

My final harvest of Setanta Potatoes in Week 27.

In Week 27, lots of green growth of Xmas potatoes: Maris Peer and Charlottes.

In Week 27, lots of green growth of Xmas potatoes: Maris Peer and Charlottes.

New Bella Garlic needs planting as they've already started to sprout leaves!

New Bella Italiano Garlic (from eBay) needs planting as they’ve already started to sprout leaves!

3 thoughts on “Week 27: Progress with Pumpkins & Potatoes…

  1. Pingback: Week 29: Celebrating my “Top of the Crops” with the RHS Grow Your Own… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  2. Pingback: Week 31: Pumpkin Progress… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  3. Pingback: Week 33: My Spook-tacular Pumpkin ready for Halloween with Jack o’Lantern Blaze Highlights (and previously home-carved pumpkins)… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

