Week 25: Pickling my Produce (Cucamelons & Shallots)…

Well, moving into Autumn and decided to try and pickle some of my produce. (Red Sun Shallots and Cucamelons) have done well but to keep them “fresh” into the Winter, found a really simple recipe online. (And a fresh Vine leaf scrunched up and added to the mix (to release the tannin which help keep the fruit crisp!?).

Ingredients for Pickling: White wine vinegar, sugar, salt, Italian dried herbs, Mustard Seeds and Peppercorns.

Ingredients for Pickling: White wine vinegar, sugar, salt, Italian dried herbs, Mustard Seeds and Peppercorns.

From the Plot: my cucamelons and my Shallots (Red Sun).

From the Plot: my cucamelons and my Shallots (Red Sun).

My completed pickled jars (Jar 1 and Jar 2) including some home-grown chives.

My completed pickled jars (Jar 1 and Jar 2) including some home-grown chives.

Jar 1: Cucamelons & Shallots .

Jar 1: Cucamelons & Shallots .

Jar 2: Cucamelons & Shallots.

Jar 2: Cucamelons & Shallots.

Jars 3, 4 and 5: Excluding Chives but including Italian Herbs.

Jars 3, 4 and 5: Excluding Chives but including Italian Herbs.

4 thoughts on “Week 25: Pickling my Produce (Cucamelons & Shallots)…

  1. Pingback: Week 29: Celebrating my “Top of the Crops” with the RHS Grow Your Own… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  2. Pingback: Week 52; My Big Allotment Challenge First Anniversary… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  3. Pingback: Celebrating Two Years of my Big Allotment Challenge down my Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  4. Pingback: Week 52 Year 3: Happy 3rd Birthday to my Allotment Plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

