Week 24: Preparing for Winter with new plantings….

It seems strange in August to be planning ahead for the Winter, and perhaps even stranger (as it is year 1) to be enacting my crop rotation already but with a limited plot, I have crops taken up and new ones ready to be planted.

Downloaded 31 08 14 105

My new covered planter (in the former Desiree Potatoes Bed) with Red Pak Choi, Curly Kale, Cauliflower and Purple Sprouting Broccoli.

My new covered planter (in the former Desiree Potatoes Bed) already planted with herbs and other crops and now with Red Pak Choi, Curly Kale, Cauliflower and Purple Sprouting Broccoli.

New Winter crops under a micomesh covering.

New Winter crops under a micomesh covering.

Also in the former Desiree Potatoes Raised Bed, I have planted Saffron. These bulbs should flower in just a few weeks (according to the packaging so we shall have to see!).

Also in the former Desiree Potatoes Raised Bed, I have planted Saffron. These bulbs should flower in just a few weeks (according to the packaging so we shall have to see!).

Was really impressed with  my Elephant Garlic so I have already purchased one bulb (from the Southport Flower Show) and ordered other Autumn Garlics.

Was really impressed with my Elephant Garlic so I have already purchased one bulb Solent Wight (from the Southport Flower Show) and ordered other Autumn Garlic (Provence Wight). In addition, Autumn Onions have been ordered (Radar [80 x2!]  Electric Red [80] and Snowball White [80]).

At Week 24, from the front of my plot.

At Week 24, from the front of my plot.

From the shed, looking down the plot at Week 24.

From the shed, looking down the plot at Week 24.

Leave a Reply

