Week 24: Designs on my plot…

It may seem strange but when I first got Plot 225, back in March 2014, I did think it was too big (66 ft by 18 ft) but as the weeks have rolled by, I am now short of space. On my Big Allotment Challenge, there is a balance to planning and preparing for future crops versus the current crops growing on the plot so quite early on, I decided to make a plan. It was back in Week 4 when the plot took shape with new Raised Beds and the arrival of the Shed in Week 5.

Week 4 and I have raised beds. The dark grey beds are planned to be put in.

Week 4 and I have the outline of my Raised Beds. The dark grey squares are where I plan to put in Raised Beds.

Week 4 and Week 8 Plans. Substantially more growing and all raised beds planted.

Week 4 and Week 8 Plans. Substantially more growing and most Raised Beds planted. Note the Pumpkin Raised Bed started on the plan as one large Raised Bed but this was divided into two.

In my head, I had planned one crop per raised bed but in reality I don’t have that much space and there is something in a lot of the literature around Companion planting, which I have followed and researched. (For example planting Elephant Garlic with my Desiree Potatoes as they are complimentary crops and the smell of the garlic should deter aphids from the potatoes). From a previous posting, the “Main Avenue” was changed with a small border added down the central aisle in Week 9.

Week 19 and Week 23 Plans. Found with more planting, I have expanded the details I capture on the plan.

Week 19 and Week 23 Plans. Found with more planting, I have expanded the details I capture on the plan.

So the current Plan (week 24) has been updated to reflect new plantings completed this week (in the former Desiree Potatoes & Elephant Garlic Raised Bed I have planted new Red Bok Choi, Curly Kale, Purple Sprouting Broccoli and Cauliflower):

Week 24: Including new plantings.

Week 24: Including new plantings. The shaded lines indicate crops which have finished on my plot.

I don’t know if I’m mad in planning to this level of detail (with colour coded “G” for my Gladioli so I know what blooms should appear) but it works for me. Once a week, I update the map on the computer and print it out. During the week, I will scribble over it with my tasks and jobs and amend it in pen before applying to the computer copy. It will definitely help me manage my crop rotations for next year (and indeed, already) but I wonder how other Allotmenteers manage their plots?

One thought on “Week 24: Designs on my plot…

  1. Pingback: Week 40 Year 2: In the bleak Mid-Winter or “The [Winter] Force Awakens”… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

