Week 21: Harvesting my vegetables…

Another week of my productive plot with lots of vegetables collected, cooked and enjoyed. Even a few neighbours and friends received Black Beauty Courgettes (as I’ve had enough of them!).

Beetroot boiled and served with my own lettuce in a salad.

Beetroot boiled and served with my own lettuce in a salad.

My Cucuamelons.

My Cucuamelons.

Trimmed Runner Beans (Scarlet Emperor & Greshen).

Trimmed Runner Beans (Scarlet Emperor & Greshen).

More Blue Lake French Beans.

More Blue Lake French Beans.

Lovely green Blue Lake French Beans and mixed Runner Beans (Scarlet Emperor & Greshen).

Lovely green Blue Lake French Beans and mixed Runner Beans (Scarlet Emperor & Greshen).

My lovely salad grown with Black Beauty Courgettes and lettuce from the allotment.

My lovely salad grown with Black Beauty Courgettes and lettuce from the allotment.

My Lettuce, SpaceMaster Cucumber, Black Beauty Courgettes and Blue Lake French Beans.

My Lettuce, SpaceMaster Cucumber, Black Beauty Courgettes and Blue Lake French Beans.

With some vegetables, like French Beans, it seems fairly straight forwards as to when you pick them: when the beans have formed and before they are really hard and firm, but with some vegetables /fruit, the books do not indicate when you should enjoy the fruits of your labour. I have picked my Crystal Lemon Cucumber and now my Space Master Cucumber but I don’t know whether they would have grown more, if I had left them but that’s life on the allotment: always learning and trialling different things.

Leave a Reply

