Week 20: Tidying /Weeding the plot and fruitful developments…

By Week 20 the Dahlias are now flowering at the front of the plot. The Raspberries need trimming back, now that they’ve finished fruiting. Sweetcorn looks majestic.

Dahlias along the front.

Dahlias along the front.

At the back of the plot, it has been weeded and new Mint (Banana and Ginger) planted into sunken pots.

At the back of the plot, it has been weeded and new Mint (Banana and Ginger) planted into sunken pots.

General weeding undertaken to make the plot tidy and neat. (now that I have entered into our Annual Allotment Competition!)

(Silver Medal Winning @RHS Hampton Court) Mulch added around the Blue Lake French Beans.

Additional mulch added around the Raspberries at the front of the plot. Looks a little smarter now that I have tackled the bind weed (although it will be back!)

Brassicas doing well although I think I have lost the Cauliflower to white fly but Calabrese is continuing to be harvested.

Brassicas doing well although I think I have lost the Cauliflower to white fly but Calabrese is continuing to be harvested.

My Crystal Lemon Cucumber plants doing really well with lots of fruit.

My Crystal Lemon Cucumber plants doing really well with lots of fruit.

Elephant Garlic flowers (x3) in full bloom and need to be cut off.

Elephant Garlic flowers (x3) in full bloom and need to be cut off.

Pumpkins (American Giants) doing well with fruits growing.

Pumpkins (American Giants) doing well with fruits growing.

My large Paton Twins Giant Plant and other American Giant Fruits of my Pumpkin Raised Bed.

My large Paton Twins Giant Plant and other American Giant Fruits of my Pumpkin Raised Bed.

My large SpaceMaster cucumber fruit growing well.

 

Leave a Reply

