Week 19: Oh My CAULI! Whats Happened to my Cauliflower?! But my Calabrese is doing well!

I was so pleased that my Cauliflower was doing well. Two of the three plants had bulked up and started to produce a flower head. It is such a shame that in just a week, they seemed to have been ruined.

Attacked by White Fly as the flower head has become droopy and badly deformed.

Attacked by White Fly as the flower head has become droopy and badly deformed.

This one looks even more deformed with spindly flower heads ruined by nature.

This one looks even more deformed with spindly flower heads ruined by nature.

I have sprayed them with an Organic Insect Vegetable Spray in the hope that the White Fly will go and eat something else but we shall have to see what happens as in the Brassica Raised Bed there is also the Calabrese, Beetroot and Bedford Brussels Sprouts.

Week 18 and they were doing so well.

Week 18 and they were doing so well.

 

Calabrese growing well in the Raised Bed.

Calabrese growing well in the Raised Bed.

Under the mesh, the Calabrese is growing well.

Under the mesh, the Calabrese is growing well.

Brussel Sprout plants are doing rather well. I might need to thin them out.

Brussels Sprout plants are doing rather well. I might need to thin them out.

 

3 thoughts on “Week 19: Oh My CAULI! Whats Happened to my Cauliflower?! But my Calabrese is doing well!

  1. Pingback: Week 41 (Merry Christmas): Do we serve allotment-grown Bedford Brussels Sprouts for Christmas 2014? | My Big Allotment Challenge

  2. Pingback: Year 2 Week 9: The end of Purple Sprouting, the beginning of French Beans and RHS Chelsea Flower Show… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  3. Pingback: Week 3 Year 3: First Early Potatoes, Sowing Seeds and growing from seedlings… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

