Week 16: “OH MY CAULI!” and “back to the weeding”…

So pleased the Onions are swelling up. I was worried about the previously reported maggots but the wood-ash appears to have cleared them out and they have returned back from the edge!

So pleased the Onions are swelling up. I was worried about the previously reported maggots but the wood-ash appears to have cleared them out and they have returned back from the edge! (Advice from Green Lizard back in Week 11)

The raspberries are doing well as is the Bind Weed. This is the only raised bed/ area we didn't rotovate and deeply clear as we left them in place. May need to review this bed later in the year.

The raspberries are doing well as is the Bind Weed. This is the only raised bed/ area we didn’t rotovate and deeply clear as we left them in place. May need to review this bed later in the year.

Under the Brassica Netting, I have seen my Brussels Sprout plants grow massively. The Califlower has started to sprout and the Calabrese is getting established. It had grown to up to the smaller netting loop so I have released them.

Under the Brassica Netting, I have seen my Brussels Sprout plants grow massively. The Cauliflower has started to sprout and the Calabrese is getting established. It had grown to up to the smaller netting loop so I have released them.

Oh My Cauli! So excited to see cauliflower growing with small white heads forming on the plants.

Oh My Cauli! So excited to see cauliflower growing with small white heads forming on the plants.

Close-up of slug damage on lettuce leaves in Salad Bed.

Close-up of slug damage on lettuce leaves in Salad Bed before the weeding.

Cucumber Plants all developing long tentacles with yellow flowers and some fruit.

Cucumber Plants all developing long tentacles with yellow flowers and some fruit.

Sweetcorn looking strong and developing flower heads.

Sweetcorn looking strong and developing flower heads.

Onions doing what they do: swelling and growing fatter.

Onions doing what they do: swelling and growing fatter.

Urgent need to weed as the Salad Bed looks so unsightly and overgrown. I can't even see the Spring Onions.

Urgent need to weed as the Salad Bed looks so unsightly and overgrown. I can’t even see the Spring Onions.

Wisteria has new leaf growth which I hope means it is settling into its new home after the shock of the move.

Wisteria has new leaf growth which I hope means it is settling into its new home after the shock of the move.

And weeding started at the back of the plot (next to the Blueberries, Sunflowers and Shed). I have cleared out weeds and in the Salad Raised Bed, the mixed leaves have been pulled up (and composted). The weeds have been removed. I have left the lettuce for now and pleased that the Spring Onions are still growing (if somewhat slowly). Thinking I might use this space for Leeks (as I have more ready for potting on as well as the bed of Musselburghs which hasn’t been moved since planting!).

Pleased that I have been able to find a little time to do the necessary weeding. Finding that the weeds are vigorous and perhaps as a newly dug plot, rampant in my healthy soil. But planning to work progressively through each bed and take them out.

 

 

Leave a Reply

