Week 5: My New Shed

I spoke with the delivery company the evening before and they confirmed I was the first delivery of the day (the next day) and because it would be travelling down from Nottingham, it would probably be late morning before the shed arrived. However, a telephone call at 0630 from the driver was mis-heard and we thought he said he would be with other at 10am, because ten minutes later, he rang up saying “I’m here. Where are you?”

Well, we rushed down to greet the delivery man and accept the shed (in several large parts including a base) and waved him off to his next delivery. The shed parts were then trundled across the allotments to my plot before breakfast was consumed and plenty of coffee.

New shed (in parts) taken across the Allotments to my plot.

New shed (in parts) taken across the Allotments to my plot.

The old shed partly pulled down.

The old shed partly pulled down.

A whole hole of nothing; where the old shed had been placed (so the Bishop didn't see lots of sheds from his residence).

A whole hole of nothing; where the old shed had been placed (so the Bishop didn’t see lots of sheds from his residence).

The remaining old compost pile is used to fill in the hole.

The remaining old compost pile is used to fill in the hole.

The hole filled in!

The hole filled in!

The new shed base which will give me years of strong foundation.

The new shed base which will give me years of strong foundation.

The side and the back raised.

The side and the back raised.

Nearly a whole shed.

Nearly a whole shed.

Fixing up the roof.

Fixing up the roof.

From a distance, my shed looks rather orange (as someone told me!)

From a distance, my shed looks rather orange (as someone told me!)

All in one day: old shed into a new one.

All in one day: old shed into a new one.

The shed's journey.

The shed’s journey.

In parts.

In parts.

The original brown colour selected for the shed: an improvement on Orange but not what I want!

The original brown colour selected for the shed: an improvement on Orange but not what I want!

 

We had a super Good Friday in building the shed. An early start but a solid day of activity which ended with a rain-tight, firm, solid shed on my plot.

4 thoughts on “Week 5: My New Shed

  1. Pingback: Week 24: Designs on my plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  2. Pingback: Week 52; My Big Allotment Challenge First Anniversary… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  3. Pingback: Week 1 Year 3: Building my first Greenhouse down the plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge

  4. Pingback: Week 1 Year 3: Building my first Greenhouse down the plot… | My Big Allotment Challenge – WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

