Week 3: Building a Compost Bin and working the soil.

Like many allotments, there are rules. Lots of rules for my Plot but that’s part of the world that I’ve joined. http://fpmaa.com/rules/
So when we saw a wooden pallet on the side of the road, instead of ignoring it and walking by, we picked it up and carried it to the plot where a new compost bin was created and built.

The soil was worked with the “trench” method of digging. Using a wheelbarrow and digging out a trench, adding manure to the bottom and then shifting over the next trench of soil so that you cover in the former trench and create a new one. After some serious raking, the soil has been worked well although it is not level.

The saved raspberries next to the newly built compost bin.

The saved raspberries next to the newly built compost bin.

Located in a corner, it also helps define the space whilst providing some protection to the existing raspberries. Indeed, whilst I have been busy clearing the old produce, I have saved the raspberries (Autumn Fruiting- we believe) and the strawberries. And then added my own Autumn fruiting raspberry canes and my strawberry plants.

I can see the field of soil emerging.

I can see the field of soil emerging.

My new compost bin made up of old (discarded) pallets found on the Fulham Road.

My new compost bin made up of old (discarded) pallets found on the Fulham Road.

Holding onto the make-do fences defining the corner of my plot.

Holding onto the make-do fences defining the corner of my plot on a lovely sunny day.

One thought on “Week 3: Building a Compost Bin and working the soil.

  1. Pingback: Week 52; My Big Allotment Challenge First Anniversary… | My Big Allotment Challenge

Leave a Reply

