Week 1: Clearing the site.

Getting back to basics and trying to see my plot wasn’t going to be easy but I had signed up and agreed to take on the plot. I had waited seven years on the waiting list, so long that I had forgotten I was on it, so now I had my chance: I would succeed.

A wander through the Fulham Palace Meadows Allotment Society grounds, secure behind tall fences and lockable gates I’ve found a whole new world. There’s a tea hut where a honest box is filled when you require hot refreshments. A fridge with cold drinks as well as occasional sweet treats! At the weekends there’s a shop which sells all and sundry required for the allotment, manure at £3.50 per bag which is comparable if not cheaper than the DIY centres. And the main office, there to administer the allotment. There are lots of water pumps, the closest one to my plot (225) is next door but one, and plentiful wheelbarrows which is rather useful. And the people are so friendly, warm and chatty. Happy to give advise and happy to see a neglected plot get some TLC (I hope).

Just collecting all the rubbish and burning what we could was a start.

Just collecting all the rubbish and burning what we could was a start.

Burning rubbish.

Burning rubbish.

Clearing beds of weeds and overgrown produce.

Clearing beds of weeds and overgrown produce.

Even after a long tidy-up, it already feels a little more manageable.

Even after a long tidy-up, it already feels a little more manageable.

Leave a Reply

